Motivation

by lauralynne

***I sound whiny and sorry for myself in this post. I apologize, but I need to write this out and have a visual record of what I need to do.***
I need to lose 25 pounds.

It’s embarrassing to me that I actually cannot fit into most of my old slacks.

I’m especially embarrassed that on those fitness quizzes, I now have to check the sedentary box as opposed to the active box.

I’ve been here before–when I got back from my first study abroad experience, I was around 170lbs (I’m not quite that high now). Part of that was from thoroughly enjoying myself in Europe and damning the consequences. Part was from the first two years of college. Whatever it was, I came back from Europe with a WHOLE lot more confidence in myself and lost the weight, 25-30 lbs, over the next year. Slowly, but healthfully. I lived a couple of miles from campus and I’m pretty sure that daily walk was the biggest contributor to my weight loss and overall health.

So…I know I can do it.

What I’m struggling with is the fact that it will take time. Logically, I know this. But who doesn’t just want to snap their fingers and lose all the weight they’ve gained, and then some?

This post at Not Martha really, really struck me and has inspired me.

A lot of weight loss or fitness blogs/websites tend to focus in exhaustive detail on every tiny food consumed during the day and every calorie burned. These people are running marathons and half-marathons or even competing in triathlons. All well and good for them, but I am not really an athlete. I like to bike, hike, walk, play softball, do yoga, swim–for fun, not to compete. It’s exhausting and demoralizing for me to focus on every bit of food that goes into my mouth. So, while I am inspired by these folks, their approach isn’t realistic for me. I was really happy to see someone talk about slow weight loss (although I’d still love that overnight “cure”). And from the perspective of someone who doesn’t like to sweat.

Where does this leave me? Putting one foot in front of the other, I guess.

Triggers and or contributing factors:

  • My husband is a gym junkie. He needs to eat 3000 calories a day. I do not have that same need at all. It can be hard to not eat what he is eating, especially since I am the one who does most of the cooking. I do serve myself smaller portions, but I’m thinking they need to be even smaller.
  • I have as serious love for Coca-Cola.
  • When I am stressed at work, I tend to leave the branch (& my healthy prepared lunch) and pick something up, usually fast food because that is all that is available. I have been stressed for the last four months because we came this close to having my location closed and my position disappearing.
  • We don’t have a break room at my branch–all eating happens at my desk.
  • My current position is much more sedentary than my previous one as a children’s librarian.  My current branch is less than 10000 square feet (much less), my former regional branch was over 50000 square feet.
  • I prefer to walk outside; this is only possible down here about 6 mos out of the year. I do need to just buck up, but I know this has been an excuse for me for some time.
  • For the last year and a half, we have made a trip to Alabama almost every other week. Driving. Road food. Depressing situation. Not a good combination.

What I need to do:

  • Commit to working out at least 3 times a week, strive for more.
  • Eat more vegetables, less bread and cheese.
  • Seriously cut back on the sugar. I’m tempted to try a sugar detox, just because my sweet cravings are so strong and so frequent. And I give in to them.
  • Limit the soda to one a week, or something.
  • Find something healthy beyond water that I like to drink.
  • Figure out what motivates me to work out. Rewards don’t work.

Any suggestions? I’m open to anything except a detailed tracking of what I eat. I’ve done that before and it’s not good. It either leads to unhealthy, restrictive dieting, or I spend the entire time for anything that I put in my mouth, good or bad.

